Finding Sara Returns!

The new cover for Finding Sara

The new cover for Finding Sara

Several months ago, I parted company with my publisher. They generously waived their rights to my first novel Finding Sara, and I’ve decided to self publish it – not much point shopping a novel that’s already been published. πŸ™‚

As luck would have it, I’d won a free self-publishing package with CreateSpace, and, well, who doesn’t like free? What I didn’t expect was the level of support and professionalism I’ve encountered. CreateSpace is GOOD at what they do.

Sure, I’d prefer their “cream” were less yellow, and I’d like a hardcover option. But I think they’re smart in limiting choices. The process has been easy peasy, the communication excellent, and the design work lovely. The small mistakes have been addressed immediately – I mean, I send an email, and my phone rings within 5 minutes. On the other end is someone saying, “I sense confusion. Let me help you…” πŸ˜€

Here’s the new cover. Thank you to Andy Cook for his photography, and to Lisa Cook for her riding and modeling prowess. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Finding Sara Returns!

    • They’ve been great. πŸ˜›
      Hey – can you see the picture if you follow the link? I originally posted it to a private facebook group – not sure it’ll let the world see it. May have to re-upload.

      • Never mind. WordPress finally let me upload the photo. πŸ™‚
        Seems I can’t do it from the treadmill machine. Had to use the itty bitty netbook.

    • Thank you, Ann!
      I wasn’t wild about the background images CS selected. They tried – probably looked long and hard to find a stock photo with a woman who had long hair, was sitting with her knees pulled up, and looked like she had a headache. And the design was wonderful.
      But she just didn’t look like Sara – not in the least vulnerable – too physically big and strong?
      My fault, I’m sure, for not better conveying what I wanted. Even so, they were willing to start from scratch with a photo I uploaded – the one now on the cover. I can’t say enough about CreateSpace – they’ve been wonderful.

    • Thank you–I missed being here. πŸ™‚ I’m having fun getting this book back out the door. Saving Gracie is ready to query, and I’m back to working on The Girl with Green Hair. And a Gracie sequel. I’m about 20,000 words into each of them–long way to go.

  1. Hi Nancy! Relatively new to the blogging world, but I’m having a wonderful time finding familiar faces and trading blogspots! “Finding Sarah” looks wonderful, and I’m thrilled to know that Create Space is so great to work with – I’m still fiddling with “Maypops”, lol, but I’ll definitely give this some consideration!

Leave a Reply

