The Next Big Thing

The Next Big Thing – that’s not gonna be me. I aim to be the next writer who ekes out a modest living in anonymity, hunched over a netbook, squinting at the flickering screen (my netbook is old), with my neck twisted like a cruller.

That’s gonna be me if I’m lucky. Because most novelists don’t make a living writing. We do other stuff, like work in book stores and libraries, dig ditches, sell shoes. I’m a massage therapist. I write for fun.

So, c’mon, all you readers out there! Take a chance on one of the many Indie authors, or the authors publishing with a small house (the little publishers who don’t do any marketing). Go read a free sample on Amazon with the “look inside this book” option. If you like the sample, go ask your library to buy the book.

We love it when libraries buy our books.

They often will. And then you get to read it for free.

Today we are blog hopping through some great Indie reads. I’ll answer a few questions about my book, and I’ll tag another author to do the same. I was supposed to tag 5 authors, but I’m an underachiever. I think I’ll tag them on facebook instead.

Naw, they had their chance. Slackers.

Thank you to Christina Jean for tagging me. Take a minute to check out her blog at http://christinajmichaels.blogspot.com/. She’s writing a thriller, and I’m here to tell ya, it’s damn good.

Here’s the part of this blog hop where I answer a bunch of questions about my current WIP (that’s writer lingo for work-in-progress).

1. What is the working title of your book?

The working title is Saving Gracie.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

I didn’t have an idea for a book, so I envisioned a woman in her mid-seventies, and I followed her down a road hoping something would happen. It did.

3. What genre does your book fall under?

I suppose it’s sort of a murder mystery. But really, it focuses on relationships between quirky characters, and there’s a lot of humor. There are tense moments, and a couple places that make me sniffle (I’m lame like that). There’s even romance. But if I had to choose a genre, I guess I’d answer with a blank stare.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

No idea. I don’t watch a bunch of TV, and I don’t watch movies with people my characters’ ages. Maybe Laura Prepon for Molly? And Marcel… maybe Cory Monteith – he’s good at playing a goober, but we’d have to darken his hair and grow it out a bit. Gracie – Sally Fields? She’s a little young, but we can make her hair white. And she can fly. That could come in handy.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Hah! There isn’t one. Nothing is as it seems, and no one is who they appear to be. So there.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m not sure. It’s in the final editing stages, so I could shop it around. But I won a self-publishing package in a contest, and it might be fun to experiment with that.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I think it was about 9 months, but I wasn’t paying attention.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I don’t read this genre. There. I said it.

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

Gracie! I dreamed her up, and she insisted I write her story. She’s pushy – refused to let me sleep.

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Well, it’s a great book if you want to sit down to a fun read without too, too much suspense. There are several mysteries all woven together with unexpected twists and revelations. It’s good entertainment with minimal angst. Okay – it has angst, but I try to keep it on the lighter side.

Here’s the part where I’m supposed to tag five more authors, writers or bloggers. But only one agreed to be tagged, so you all have to go and visit DelSheree Gladden next Wednesday. Actually, you should visit her right now and sign up for her blog, because she’s worth reading any day, not just for this blog hop.

If you have any questions about this book, or my published novel, Finding Sara, don’t hesitate to ask. Thank you for reading! And thank you again to Christina for the invitation.

7 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. So nice to get a blog post from you again Nancy! And apologies for not realising you were a writer. I always leapt straight into the Frankie videos. 😦

    Since we last ‘spoke’ I’ve started a 2nd blog that’s just to connect readers to writers. The idea is for writers to share /their/ favourite books with readers. If you’d like to join our small but growing family, this is the url :
    http://novelsauthorsread.wordpress.com/

    Please extend this invitation to any authors you know. The only requirement is that the author have one book published. Indie or trad. doesn’t matter.

    cheers
    Meeks

Leave a Reply

