Quick Louise Update

I’m not sure these two would be considered the best post-surgical companions.

Louise looks wonderful today, despite yesterday’s unscheduled outing. She’s moving freely about in her stall and aisle – no sign of pain or swelling. Yay! ๐Ÿ˜€

When I gave my chickens away, I was left with three roosters. One prefers to live alone, but these two adopted Louise. I kept them closed up for the first ten days following her surgery – didn’t want chicken poop anywhere near those incisions. But today I let them out.

Within a minute, they’d found Louise and perched on her wall. You’d think they’d at least eat breakfast first.

One of them sat on her butt for a while, but that was after my camera shouted, “Replace battery!” and shut itself off.

But first I got a quick photo of Lucy, because she’s so darn cute.

Lucy is tired of the confinement too. And there’s nothing wrong with her that can’t be cured with diet and exercise.

3 thoughts on “Quick Louise Update

  1. Your post reminded me of a childhood incident, when I was in a village at a subsistence farm neighboring my grandparents’ farm. When my grandpa and I walked into the yard, this wizened old black rooster ran up to me and started pecking he heck out of my ankles. It was painful. I looked at my grandfather and said: “Aaa! Grandpa!” and he replied: “Don’t hurt him! Don’t hurt him!”–meaning that _I_ shouldn’t hurt the rooster. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, Louise is one fine-looking lady, and makes me wish I were a horse. The pics are great. Thanks for the update.

  2. Animal friendships are so strange. After a few weeks of ‘what the hell is it?’ my cats have decided the new puppy is ‘theirs’. I just love watching them all together. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

